Gateham Grange

Welcome to our Working Farm nr. Alstonefield in the beautiful Peak District on the Derbyshire/Staffordshire border

Quality Inspected Self-Catering Holiday Cottages and Camping Barn

Telephone 01335 310349     Email Gateham.Grange@btinternet.com

View of Gateham Grange working peak district farm and self catering holiday cottages taken from the top of Wetton Hill

 

Home

Coach House

Gateham Cottage

Camping Barn

To Book

Late Deals

The Farm

T & C

Attractions

Testimonials

Pets Welcome

WW1 Centenary

Ancestry

Find Us

Contact Us

Links

 

 

 

 

 

Testimonials

For more reviews - click on the Trip Advisor Logo at the bottom of the page

"Quiet, peaceful escape to the country"

We stayed for a week in October with family and dog, and were welcomed from the start by the owners. The cottage is warm, well-equipped, quiet and very comfortable. There is easy access walking to beautiful scenery, welcoming pubs and pretty local villages. Chatsworth is a brilliant day out too. We particularly liked escaping from the mobile phone for a week. On the last night a new calf was born in the stable opposite. Perfect place for families

Jamie P, Nantwich (October 2013)

Alstonefield Camping Barn - Venture Consulting - Navigation Training

We really enjoyed our stay the last time and the Barn is ideal for the training I deliver. My students spend most of the day learning navigation but also wish to learn the basics of self sufficiency. The barn allows me to do this whilst giving me a 'non weather dependant' option. The students commented on the fact that the Barn (having no electricity) gave them an atmospheric experience.

 We all enjoyed the communal dining arrangements in the downstairs room and the students left having a shared experience that will remain with them for some time.

The venue is ideal for me as gives me quick access to the major trunk roads and motorways. but places me right in the heart of Derbyshire and the terrain I need to teach my students.

Brian Deacon  (August 2013)

"A pastoral idyll in the Peak District"

We have stayed at Gateham Grange something like twenty times over the last fifteen years both in the Coach House and in Gateham Cottage. The accommodation looks beautiful and has always been very welcoming and comfortable but the real attraction that has brought us back year after year has been the location. Gateham Grange itself, although very much a working farm, is quite unspoilt and idyllic and you can set off in any direction for a day of perfect walking in the Peak District with the Manifold valley less than two miles to the west and the Dove only a mile or so eastwards. The owners are friendly, approachable and extremely helpful without being intrusive and our daughters have loved feeding their lambs.

The Smith Family, Haddenham (May 2013)

"Fantastic family farm with hands on experience and a great location"

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at Gateham grange, It was lambing time and our children age 6 and 9 couldn't wait to get their wellies on each day to go and see the lambs, chickens and cows, not forgetting ringo the cat. Teresa, Robert and Sam were more than happy for them to help out with feeding the sheep and collecting the eggs.
The cottage was just the right size for a family of four with very comfotable beds. It is in a fantastic location for walks, visiting dove dale and hiring bikes to cycle along the manifold track. It is also very close to Alton towers for thrill seekers.
Would definately recommend this cottage.

Stephanie Williams, Wokingham (April 2013)

"Wonderful week away from it all"

I spend a week at the cottage- half of it with the family - the other half with friends. It suited both sets very well.
The cottage is self contained and is the end section of an old traditional farm house. When looking for a cottage I found lots of places with laminate floors and leather sofas - not my idea of traditional. Gateham is a lot more normal - like living in a clean well equiped house belonging to a friend, but with beautiful country right outside the door and lots of attractions nearby.
It is very quiet and you can see the stars in the sky, but a five minute journey in either direction to villages with pubs and shops.
Teresa, Robert and Sam are the farming family who live next door. They invited us to see the lambing and we saw a lamb being born. My mum and friend Natasha got to hold a lamb and had their pictures taken.
I would like to go again. Great way of switching off city life.

David Allan, London (March 2013)

"Great cottage for friends - perfect for exploring the White Peak"

You can't beat the location - mountain biking galore straight out the back door. We stayed as a group of 5 friends. Plenty of room in the sitting room and kitchen. Kitchen well equipped. Excellent service from Teresa - coped admirably with our disorganised arrival! Above all excellent value for money. Will return.

Ben T. London (December 2012)

"A cosy retreat in the country at a very reasonable price"

My adult children and I have recently enjoyed a lovely family holiday at Gateham Grange. It is very reasonably priced and its location is excellent for exploring the Peak District. We are veteran visitors to this area and have stayed in many different cottages, mostly on farms, and our stay at Gateham Grange is now on our list of favourite holidays. The cottage is cosy and offers everything you need and provides an excellent base to relax and indulge in the tranquility of the beautiful surrounding countryside. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly and very flexible in accommodating bookings outside the usual Saturday to Saturday booking periods. We look forward to a return visit here.

Graham Wren, Brentwood (Sept 2012)

"Perfect"

If you like the quite middle of nowhere outdoors feeling, The Coach House is the place to be. Living on a working farm was an experience that the kids loved to bits, with the chickens wondering about and lambs escaping - the kids loved it. Teresa, Robert and Sam were all very welcoming, taking the time to talk to us and making us feel welcome and comfortable.

Mark W. (North Worcs. Sept 2012)

"A real home from home!"

I stayed here for a week in June 2012 and had a really great time as its a great base to explore places like Dovedale, Thors Cave and the towns of Buxton and Bakewell. The owners couldn't of been more friendly if they tried and the accomodation was spacious and the newly fitted kitchen was great. Great views and great times I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to explore the Peak District.

Richard, Cambridge (June 2012)

"Help out on the farm - perfect for kids"

We stayed in the Coach house with our three children aged 3, 6 and 7 last week. We loved the farm. Cows, sheep, chickens and the friendly cat right outside your door. The children loved helping with feeding the chickens, herding the sheep, watching sheeps toe nails being cut and how a baby calf was adopted in the cow shed next to the Coach House.
The garden on the terrace at the back of the coach house is a hidden treasure with great views and we had lovely family meals there.
Gateham Grange can be highly recommended.
Adam Weir (7 June 2012)

"Wonderful holiday destination for all! A real home from home."

I booked the Coach House at Gateham Grange for myself, my eldest daughter and my 4 year old grandson. The Coach House was a beautiful cottage, with everything you could need for a holiday and very comfortable beds! Teresa, Robert and Sam were all very welcoming, taking the time to talk to us and making us feel welcome and comfortable.
My grandson absolutely loved the farm with the cows and calves and the sheep and the lambs (and a very friendly cat!); he was even given the opportunity to help feed the lambs.
There are some beautiful walks from the farm, short and longer. We recommend taking a walk to Thors Cave. We definitely intend on returning.

Vanessa K, Norwich (May 2012)

"Warm welcome and friendly atmosphere"

Warm welcome and the owners will help you with any problems.  The Coach house is very comfortable and another advantage is the downstairs toilet as I am disabled and only have to use the stairs twice a day. A quiet location there is a small shop at Hulme end, the nearest shopping centre is Buxton or ashbourne. Every time my family and I have come to stay in the Coach house We have had a warm welcome and we love the area we have been staying for the last 18 years off and on its fabulous.
Sandra Hazell
Norfolk
May 2012

"Fantastic relaxing family holiday whilst experiencing true farm life."

Went with 3 small children and they thoroughly enjoyed their experience on the farm. They helped feed the lambs and collect eggs. The friendly owners were very accomodating in letting the children explore the farm with them. The location was very peaceful yet centrally located for days out especially Alton Towers.
The cottaqe easily accomodated the 5 of us and the 2nd bedroom was large enough to fit all 3 children in (one in a cot) and still have space to play. The upstairs lounge was safely fitted with a stairgate to stop little ones going downstairs. We hope to return there again soon.

Alison W.,  Surrey (April 2012)


"Great place, great weekend"

We went as a group of 11 and hired out both cottages at Gateham Grange. We thought the cottages were very reasonably priced, set in a great location, very clean, exceeded expectations … in summary we had a lovely stay there for the weekend. We’d definitely go back if we head out that way again.
Charlotte Turner
Watford, Herts
Nov 2011


"Absolutely Fabulous"

I booked both cottages to share a birthday weekend with 7 friends. The scenery is breathtaking, the cottages clean, beautifully decorated, bags of character, I can't think of a bad thing to say! Mrs Flower did everything she could to make our stay enjoyable. I will always look back on that weekend with great affection, and these cottages only added to what was my 50th birthday celebration to make it truely special.

Liked best: the comfort and beauty of the cottages and surrounding area
Liked least: there is nothing to complain about!
Annie Roebuck
Macclesfield
Sept 2011

"A warm welcome started our break in this lovely cottage.  It is perfect for a get-away week (or two) in such a beautiful quiet location.  So many delightful walks close by, after which you can relax in the well-equipped cottage.  if you want to eat out, there are plenty of good venues to take advantage of.  We look forward to our next visit"
Anne Tyler
Portsmouth
Sept 2011

"Over the past few years we have stayed at Gateham Cottage or The Coach House and have found both of them a lovely 'home from home' with everything you could need.  The farm is well situated for visiting all the local attractions.  We particularly enjoy the fact that there are lots of good walks you can take straight from the front door as the surrounding countryside is very beautiful.  Rob, Teresa and Sam are most welcoming."
Lindsday Corkill
Hinckley
July 2011


"A warm welcome awaits at this real working farm ,in picturesque countryside.” 

Took our first holiday at Gateham Grange in the 1980's with our teenage children and have returned on a number of occasions including last year with one of the 'children' fast approaching 40! Every visit has been a pleasure, clean comfortable accommodation ,a warm welcome from Teresa and Robert who were always happy to help.
A real working farm to savour, and plenty of things to see, do and eat in the area.
We'll be back.
The Cullen Family
Maidstone
17 Oct 2011


“Perfect setting...a great place to which to escape for a week” 

Spending a week on a farm, in a rural, secluded Peak District valley, was a fantastic spring holiday. Lambs were being born all week which was an eye-opener for the children; we fed day-old chicks from a bottle, and enjoyed the wonderful welcome from Teresa and her family. Highly recommended!

Guest Comment
Entered on Trip Advisor 9 Aug 2011


 “Relaxing holiday in beautiful countryside” 

My wife and I enjoyed our week in the coach house,cosy and warm the cottage was well stocked , the cottage was in a farming environment surrounded by the wonderful countryside just the place to relax and unwind. Lots of places to visit lovely Dovedale,  Hartington and the town of Buxton not too far away and many more places of interest we needed an extra week really, we do intend to return in the near future.
We must not forget our hostess she was kind and very helpful at all times , You could wander round the farm get close to the animals under the watchful eye of the farmers they took the time to talk to you and answer any questions you might want to ask, We enjoyed ourselves very much and for parents with young children it must be a dream come true.


Guest Comment
Entered on Trip Advisor 2 Aug 2011


"We stayed in the coach house which was so pretty & comfortable with everything you could need to have a very enjoyable holiday. My daughters absolutely loved being able to go, see & hold the lambs.
With everything so close by it is in the perfect location and well worth the visit or another visit! We would like to thank Rob, Teresa & Sam for everything that they have done for us in making our holiday a really lovely one... so thank you from Josh, Catherine, Sarah-Jane, Katie & Madison, Norfolk"

"Hidden gem” 

The cottage is is like a small farmhouse tagged onto the end of the main farmhouse. Very quiet and private, nice little garden and patio area. Its a five minute drive to Hartington, where you can shop at the lovely village stores and the pubs serve excellent meals. In the other direction nearby Alstonfield is a pretty village with a good pub. We walked a lot, and you are straight out of the door onto the hills. The main living room is on the first floor with the bedrooms. The kitchen and bathroom on the groundflloor. It actually works very well and the style and decor is homely and unpretentious. We loved it and will go back next year. There were three of us staying, my partner and her mum. Still enjoyed it!

Mike Grove
Chelsea
April 2011

 
"Heaven... Lovely, clean and everything you want.” 

We had a lovely weekend for a family birthday. The owners were great with information on farming life, really chatty and great with kids as they took them to bottle feed new lambs etc. Sat in the cottage looking out on to the farmyard and fields was breath taking. Pubs are a small car ride but plenty and wonderful George near by is lovely for a nice meal. With villages all around and places to see (dont miss Dovedale). This is from a city family seeing a snip of country life and it was wonderful except for return journey home, we wondered what life was about.......
The Stephenson family
Sheffield
April 2011

 

 

Gateham Grange supports Friends of the Peak District

T. Flower,Gateham Grange,Alstonefield,Ashbourne,Derbys. DE6 2FT

Telephone: 01335 310349   e-mail Gateham.Grange@btinternet.com

          Home|Coach House|Gateham Cottage|Camping Barn           

Member of Peak District Farm Holidays

Read the Reviews - Gateham Grange on Trip Advisor

Gateham Grange Holiday Cottages on Facebook

 

© Website, built and maintained by Teresa